Unrepayable

“When Jesus then saw His mother, and the disciple whom He loved standing nearby, He said to His mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” Then He said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” From that hour the disciple took her into his own household.” (John 19:26-27)

Yesterday Wendy and I were talking with a mother of two college students. She told me that she spent a big fortune raising her kids. Her younger son caught pneumonia when he was a baby, and he had to eat special vitamins and lots of 補品, like 燕窩 mixed with congee, until he was six years old when his pneumoia is all cured. She spent so much time and money and care on her children. And she had to worry so much.

Hearing that, Wendy said, “Well now you can wait for them to grow up and repay you by taking good care of you!” The mom paused for a moment, and she said, “Actually I don’t expect that to happen. I mean, I ask myself, did I do that to my own parents? And do you pay money to your parents and spend time with them? Even if you do, they won’t ever think it’s enough. The dilemma is, if you have time to spend with them, you won’t have enough money; if you have the money to give them, you won’t have enough time for them.” She continues, “In my heart, I really want my kids to repay me, but I know it won’t happen. Because of that I can take a more care-free attitude and not be bitter for the future.”

We can never fully repay our parents. After yesterday, I learnt to admire my parents’ love for me more. Also, if I lend a hand to help people in need, I really shouldn’t expect the repayment on this earth. It’s unrepayable anyway, so I should just freely give.

One thought on “Unrepayable

  1. as i said in my xanga few days ago, sometimes our parent(s) would rather their children just spend time with them… yes if we can give money to them that would be cool, but many of them simply long for their children’s love, company, and sometimes even the dependency on the parents. we might be grown adults, but it would make our parents really happy sometimes to just give them a “kiss” on the cheek, a hug, or just say some cute stuff just to remind me that even tho we are adults and are more independent now, we still love them like when we were little children… :-)

    thx for the great sharing, ur xanga is becoming one of my favorite, haha :-)

Comments are closed.