Fathers, not Teachers

“For if you were to have countless tutors in Christ, yet you would not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel.” (1 Corinthians 4:15)

A belated Happy Father’s Day! I learned a lesson this Father’s Day weekend that I want to share with you.

The new intern minister at our church, Dickson, has a cute 2-year-old daughter Daphne who likes to play with me. So when our small group met at Dickson’s house on Friday night, Daphne was playing with me as we were eating desserts and pies. There was a plastic knife on the dinner table, and Daphne grabbed it and gave it to me. For some reason, I did something extremely stupid… I played with the plastic knife by play-cutting my fingers with the plastic knife. Dickson, sensing the situation, quickly grabbed Daphne and told her not to play with knives. This whole thing happened so fast, like in 10 seconds, and I didn’t realize what really happened until I was driving home and thinking about the night, and I felt really bad. God really convicted in my heart that I should apologize to Dickson.

So on Sunday I approached Dickson and apologized to him about my misbehavior on Friday. As soon as I said, “Dickson, I’m sorry about Friday night…”, Dickson knew what I was talking about and said, “It’s okay, don’t worry about it.” I proceeded to make a full apology to him. And I felt so much better after that.

Since it was Father’s Day, 1 Corinthians 4:15 popped into my head. Even though I’m not a father, I still need to learn to have a father’s heart, to look forward to loving and nurturing others and not be a stumbling block for my fellow brothers and sisters!

One thought on “Fathers, not Teachers

  1. Even when we are fathers, we may still do stupid things…..these may be what I have learned….ultimately, there are two safety nets: God’s Providence, and Final Judgment. God’s Providence is a safety net for the stupid things we do now. Final judgment is a safety net for the stupid thing we do now that no one can forgive us, not even ourselves.

Comments are closed.