Awesome Responsibility

“Remember those who led you, who spoke the word of God to you; and considering the result of their conduct, imitate their faith.” (Hebrews 13:7)

Two things happened today that made me think of how awesome a responsibility it is for me to live right.

The first thing is what I read in the latest newsletter of my previous church. They published some interviews of church leaders in the newsletter. In one interview of a worship leader, whom I mentored, they ask her the question: “Who is the person with the biggest influence in your life (besides Jesus Christ)?” She answered “Tim Chan.” Actually I never realized that’s how she thought of me. Reading that, I joked to Wendy, “Was that good influence or bad influence?” Hehehe…… maybe both, I thought!

Then later this afternoon I received a letter from Daniel, a teenager in Kenya that I sponsor through Compassion International for the last 5+ years. I was surprised to read at the end of his letter, he wrote: “When I will be an old man, I will remember you very much. I pray God to give my friend, Timothy T. Chan, a longer life to live in this world and to help other people.” If God listens to his prayer, it means I will live longer but I also have a bigger responsibility to help more people!

These two things are just too overwhelming for me for one day…

2 thoughts on “Awesome Responsibility

Comments are closed.