Making Contact

“And the word of the LORD came unto Jonah the second time…” (Jonah 3:1)

Hello from Japan airport! I just finished my 2.5 weeks of trip in Hong Kong and I’m now awaiting the flight back home to San Francisco. It’s been an interesting trip in many many ways because I learned so much about myself, actually. I’ll spare you the details and tell you the most interesting day on my trip, which was August 1.

By August 1, I had been with my parents and relatives for 8 days or so. My original purpose and calling for this trip was to spend quality time with my parents and relatives. However, I was not able to arrange one-on-one time with any of them, and I also got frustrated and retreated to my room to read books and slept early on many nights. I was being very quiet and starting to feel I was wasting my time and I was wasting God’s time for me.

After talking this over with Wendy and having her full prayer support behind me, I received a second wind from the Lord. On August 1, I met with my 84-year-old gradma and shared with her the gospel message, which she heard for the first time in her life. Nothing thunderous happened, but she did acknowledge her interest in knowing more and I prayed with her for the first time in my life.

That same day, I had dinner with my aunt who’s a divorcee, and I shared with her my struggles in marriage and how God changed us. When she said, “I think the key to marriage is bearing with one another,” I told her that God has a better message for us, and that’s called “forgiveness.” Immediately her eyes lit up because mutual forgiveness is not something that non-Christians can have the drive and ability to live out, and she acknowledged that her Christian friends do have better marriages.

I think those two encounters on August 1 helped me realize that (a) I do have the ability to talk with my relatives about faith even though I’m decades younger than them; (b) God will grant me the courage and the right words to say even though I’m a slow talker.

I hope this is an encouragement to you all!

One thought on “Making Contact

Comments are closed.