The Race To Sound More “Christian”

“You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain, for the LORD will not leave him unpunished who takes His name in vain.” (Exodus 20:7)

Andrew Osenga of “Caedmon’s Call” wrote a insightful article about how the Christian subculture is violating the Third Commandment. It’s a long article, but it’s worth reading. In it he says:

The sad thing is, in a lot of ways, Christian music has turned into this thing where you succeed, not by being good at your music, by being a good writer or performer, but by being the most “christian.” I know, I’ve been to like fifteen Christian music festivals this Summer. It is very obvious, walking around the merch booths, sitting through some of the concerts, that these people are marketing God (i.e. using HIS NAME IN VAIN!).

He also cited an example where a band decided not to use a well-written song just because it contains the word “sad” in it, which makes the song not acceptable by Christian radio stations…… *sigh*!

As a musician and as a Christian, we really need to watch our actions and our words and our motives. Lord, let me die to any ambitions in me to succeed in the eyes of the world. Please help me not to look for approval from men, and not to “sound Christian,” but to live an open and honest life before you that you can change me daily to be like Christ.

3 thoughts on “The Race To Sound More “Christian”

  1. yes I was very shocked and sad when I heard about the news back then too… but many his songs became even more powerful after God called him away.  Like Jesus said, a seed won’t grow into a big tree without falling into soil first… I miss Rich Mullins and wish he would have written more songs, but I’m sure he’s singing in Heaven now playing that interesting instrument(I still don’t know what that is haha)!

Comments are closed.