Thank God For Church

“Is anyone among you sick? Then he must call for the elders of the church and they are to pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord” (James 5:14)

For the last month or so, Wendy and I had a few Christian friends from other churches who shared with us about the troubles and struggles and difficulties they’re facing, but they were unable to share those things with brothers and sisters in their own churches. In most cases, they felt uncomfortable with sharing with their own church, and they felt they would be misunderstood. To me, this is quite sad because if you’re in a church and you can’t share with them your deepest feelings and direst circumstances, what is the nature of your “brother-and-sister relationships”? And why does this situation seem so widespread?

On the other hand, Wendy and I have been very blessed with our current church. David and Packey were not only great models of leadership and marrital relationships and parenthood, but they cared for us deeply and encouraged us and prayed for us frequently. Just this week we had a dinner with Samuel and Carol and they shared with me about seeking God’s will and I thank them for dispensing their spiritual wisdom for the problems I face in my daily life.

May you who are reading this experience the closeness in truth in emotions and in spirit in your churches.

2 thoughts on “Thank God For Church

  1. Thax for your sharing Tim.
    However, well, donno if that’s the mentality, or the administration system, or because the church is too big, or having a “too rich” history or what, I just feel like my church is so much about policies than people.

Comments are closed.