He Is My Armor

“Then Saul clothed David with his garments and put a bronze helmet on his head, and he clothed him with armor. David girded his sword over his armor and tried to walk, for he had not tested them. So David said to Saul, ‘I cannot go with these, for I have not tested them.’ And David took them off.” (1 Samuel 17:38-39)

When young David was preparing to battle Goliath, there was a short account that King Saul was trying to give David a set of armor to wear, but it was probably too big for David and so he went to face Goliath without armor. We studied this passage in small group a few weeks ago, and this became a reminder for me that my protection comes from the Lord, and that the world offers false protection that don’t fit our needs and that could drag us down.

I think that many times even Christians, including myself, don’t take up the responsibilities of advancing the kingdom of God because we love ourselves too much (太鍚身). If we’re asked to be bible study leaders, we worry about “what if people ask me a question I cannot answer?” which essentially means “I don’t want to look like a fool.” If we’re asked to go on a mission trip, we worry “will the place be safe?” (at least 5 different people gave me that response when I asked each of them whether they would like to join jnX to go to India).

We ought to learn to be like young David… shedding away those false protections that drag us down, and going forth with nothing except what is tried and tested (the bare essentials of God-given talent on David’s life, which is using the sling). The key to David’s victory, and ours, if we so choose to accept is, is that (a) victory is certain; (b) the purpose of victory is to glorify God:

“Then David said to the Philistine, ‘You come to me with a sword, a spear, and a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have taunted. This day the LORD will deliver you up into my hands, and I will strike you down and remove your head from you. And I will give the dead bodies of the army of the Philistines this day to the birds of the sky and the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel.'” (1 Samuel 17:45-46)

One thought on “He Is My Armor

  1. Amen to what you said at the end! Victory is certain for us (actually, not just “certain” but it is already “true”) today because our faith (1 Jn 5:4) in Christ whose blood has destroyed the power of Satan (Heb 2:14).

    Recently, I am reading 1 and 2 Samuel and am now moving onto 1 and 2 Kings. Very interesting stories. Take care, Tim. Hope Wendy is doing fine. :)

Comments are closed.