I Could Be Your “Tribulation”

“These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Yesterday at work, the CEO asked me to help him upgrade his computer with the latest software. As I was doing that, I felt a little stressed about it because I didn’t want to mess up his computer. So I made sure I backed up everything. Then after I’m done, I went back to my cube. Ten minutes later, my boss came by, and he said, “Hey Tim, my computer crashed!” I went: “What!!??!!” Then he smiled and said, “Just kidding with you…” Man, those things could cause heart attacks!

It reminded me of a recent favorite Bible verse: John 16:33. Last week I had an argument with Wendy and we didn’t talk for a day and a half. Later I realized I was being insensitive. Somehow, John 16:33 came to my mind in a different way. When Christ Jesus said that there’s “tribulation” in the world that destroy our peace, I thought, where does that “tribulation” come from? Natural disasters could be one cause, but I think most of the time tribulation would be from humans. And I was being Wendy’s tribulation last week. So I wrote that verse in a card and gave it to Wendy and shared with her and we made up.

I think I could also be my friends’ tribulation. I do have the sinful capabilities to do things to disrupt your peace as much as it feels like to have your computer crashed. I hope I yield more and more to Christ so that when He overcomes me so well, I can really be other people’s “courage” and encouragement.

One thought on “I Could Be Your “Tribulation”

Comments are closed.