Bathroom Prayers

“Beloved, I pray that in all respects you may prosper and be in good health, just as your soul prospers.” (3 Peter 1:2)

Our house is being remodeled right now, starting with the bathroom, and then on to the new baby room, the guest room, the master bathroom, the master bedroom, and then all the windows. It’s been going on since 2 weeks ago and the whole house is a mess. Last night Wendy and I started sleeping on the sofas of our living room because work is to start on the master bedroom this morning. It’s been a stressful time seeing the house in a complete mess. But the hope of anticipating a new look in our old house and having finished the newly remodelled bathroom (pictured above) is nice.

Seeing the new bathroom reminds me of my thankfulness toward Wendy as my wife. Recently I really felt her prayer supporting me deeply. For example, whenever I face tough software programming problems at work, she’d pray for me to make good progress at the project. But she made a couple of “bathroom prayers” for me lately that I remember well and appreciate very much.

(WARNING: Explicit bathroom stuff in the next paragraph…)

One time, while one of our bathrooms was still being remodelled, the other toilet got stuck with you-know-what and it wasn’t draining, and it was hard for us to go #1 and #2. We tried many methods and the toilet was still congested. Then Wendy turned to God and prayed for the toilet to be unstuck. Right after that, we flushed and the toilet was ok! Another time, I felt a bit constipated. I know I needed to go to the bathroom so I went there hoping to have a good stool. And I did have a good stool, and when I came out, Wendy said she had been praying for me to overcome the constipation. I thank Wendy for her wonderful prayers. We all need someone to be there even in our littlest struggles in life.

Who is your most loyal prayer supporter?

6 thoughts on “Bathroom Prayers

  1. My hubby and I are each other’s most loyal prayer supporter, but our families are our most loyal prayer supporters.

    Thanks for sharing with us your bathroom story. I appreciate your transparency and candidness. It only reminds us of the power of prayer even in life’s mundane things.

  2. Thanks for your comments! I’ll keep that in mind. Besides a few riffs, I sort of improvised along the way. but I didn’t know how good/bad it was until I listened to the recording afterwards. Now I realize why my teacher said I might have to cut back on many notes while keyboarding. I really admire those experienced musicians who can make last-minute adjustments during rehearsal. At this stage, I am happy just to be able to keep up with the song leader.

    Thanks again for your encouraging words. I still have a very long way to go. I am so fortunate to be able to learn from experienced praise team members these days. Their insights are invaluable.

Comments are closed.