My Son, Your Name Is “Chase”…

“Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life. I’m back home in the house of GOD for the rest of my life.” (Psalm 23:6, The Message)

During the jnX retreat last weekend, I was touched when they prayed for our son especially when Isabella laid hands on Wendy’s tummy. But they didn’t know what name to call him by. Well, actually, after considering dozens of names, a week ago Wendy and I have finalized the name of our son. His name is “Chase”. You may say: “What an unusual but strange name” or “Chase Chan sounds a little weird” or something. I thought the same way too, at first. But I’ll explain the name, and I’ll do it in the form of a letter to Chase…

To my dear son Chase:

I’m writing this letter to you before you’re born, knowing you won’t be reading this letter until you can read. But I want you to know that you are loved, by your mom and I, by many uncles and aunts, and by our Heavenly Father. And I want you to know why your name is Chase.

The Chinese has a saying that parents “hope their sons become dragons.” However, I don’t believe in imposing my dreams onto the next generation. I believe every generation and every person needs to find a path for themselves. What I can do is to equip you and provide you with guidance. And my first guidance to you is to give you this name.

Your name Chase is not a declaration nor a destiny of who you will become, but how
you will become someone. The name “Chase” is a lifelong question that you will ask at every point in your life: What am I chasing after now? For example, when you’re in school, are you chasing after a degree or knowledge or wisdom? When you do something nice, are you chasing after self esteem or the approval of others or the approval of God? When you buy something expensive, are you chasing your self gratification or showing off or using possessions to create a sense of security or you’re hoping that your possessions will benefit others?

Ultimately, in response to many people who have prayed that you will grow up to be a worshiper of God, I do hope that your lifelong quest will lead you to chase hard after God, and then recognize that God has been chasing you all along, ever since you were formed in your mom’s womb. But while I try hard to point you there, you will have to find the answer for
yourself. Just remember to ask the right questions along the way.

I hope you love the gift of your name.

Love,

Your dad

9 thoughts on “My Son, Your Name Is “Chase”…

  1. The name Chase is quite meaningful but I hope the order of meaning can be reversed. Instead of chasing God before we recognize what God has done, I think the biblical order is this: Since I recognize God has been chasing after me all along, I chase hard after Him. (1 John 4:19, Romans 5:7-8, Galatians 5:25) (This is to have the indicative comes before the imperative so as to avoid legalism.)

  2. Love the name! I pray with you that God will cause Chase to chase hard after Him because of His irresistible grace! Sounding a little reformed? Yes, we’ve been “converted” lately… –Grace

Comments are closed.