Talking With Yourself

“The words of a man’s mouth are deep waters; the fountain of wisdom is a bubbling brook.” (Proverbs 18:4)

Lately I noticed how much we people of the age of information overload spend a majority of time talking with ourselves. I, for one, talks with myself most of the time. When I write Xanga, I talk with myself. When I write an email or IM, I can initiate a conversation without knowing whether the other person will pick up the other end of the conversation, so it’s like talking to yourself. At the least, you’re typing in front of a computer and not communicating toward a real person. Sometimes even when you’re chatting with a real person on IM, it’s even worse because you two can be talking different things and just keep typing away about your own separate topics.

Even without a computer, even in the company of a real person, we still spend a lot of time talking with ourselves. When Wendy and I are at home, our eyes could be on the TV and talk at the same time, but sometimes you wonder if you’re making sense because you’re using one side of your brain to watch TV and another side to talk. So sometimes Wendy talks to me while my eyes on the TV, and she feels like talking to herslf… Or when I’m driving, and I talk to my passenger, my eyes are on the road, and I seem like talking with myself sometimes.

I recently watched a parenting video encouraging parents to talk to their babies face to face… I was wondering: has the world come to this, that we have to be reminded to communicate face-to-face with someone? How much time is it really each day that we spend talking to someone face to face, with full verbal and nonverbal expressions?

Perhaps I should accept the reality that today we do have to seemingly talk with ourselves a lot, and learn to perfect the art of talking about what is praiseworthy, what is purposeful, and what matters most.

3 thoughts on “Talking With Yourself

  1. Michael Card’s famous line? :) Same here in the east.

    The reviews of the book is mixed on Amazon; however, since it is to controversial, I would think the book is worth looking into…… In an interview (online somewhere), Postman said he wrote his books on notepads.

    The second book is about the TV.

Comments are closed.