Lovefaking

“We know love by this, that He laid down His life for us; and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren” (1 John 3:16)

Valentine’s Day is coming up in less than two weeks, but true love is rarely portrayed these days. What we get are tokens that represent fake love. Fake love doesn’t cost much from you and doesn’t require any sacrifice. Fake love is focused on making everyone happy but not on building each other up. Fake love is focused on outward action and not inward attitude. Fake love demands the other person to give back when you give out.

Lately I seem to hear a lot more sex ads. Because the antenna on my truck was broken, I could only tune into the sports radio station and nothing else. Because sports radio’s audience is mainly men, the station air a lot of radio commericals about medications that help you “increase the male sexual response.” After listening to a lot of those commercials, I gotta ask: What’s the point of increasing sexual performance? They don’t tell you, because they don’t know. As I’m writing this, I saw a commercial on TV about Viagara. In one scene of the commercial, the guy paid a visit to the doctor who solved his sexual dysfunction. In the next scene, he kissed a woman. I hope someone will help me connect sexual response to kissing to love because I don’t see the connection in the world’s eyes.

Fortunately, as Christians, we have that connection. We need to celebrate Valentine’s Day by looking to God to understand His love for us and how we should love one another. Re-read 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 to see how godly love is holy and from living the life of goodness and kindness and how true love doesn’t change because of circumstances. By the Holy Spirit’s illumination, read the Song of Solomon to understand passionate marital love. And read the Gospels to see Christ’s agape love for us.

Years ago, one of my most favorite Christian songwriters, Bill Malonee, wrote a great song about Christian sexual love called “Love Cocoon.” The lyrics is like the Song of Solomon because it is very explicit. And yet it upholds God’s purposes in love and marriage. The first verse goes…

          Honey I wanna attack your flesh with glad abandon
          I wanna look for your fruits, I wanna put my hands on them
          I wanna pump up your thermostat beneath your skin
          I wanna uncover your swimming hole and dive right in

…if the song stops there, it’s just an expression of sexual actions, though it reads like the Song of Solomon Chapter 7. But then it goes on to say…

          Now the world keeps on banging, they just come and go
          It’s just a part of their scenery, a part of their show
          But I’ve got this wedding band wrapped around my finger
          Honey, I’ll be your poet and your gunslinger

…saying that sex for Christians is not an outward show, but an integral part of marital commitment and of marital communication. But the best verse is the last one…

          Some call it freedom, some call it shackle
          Honey, let’s get together and build a tabernacle
          Of holy flesh and holy mirth
          Let’s take what’s coming, enjoy every inch worth

…and like this song says, true sexual love needs to be kept holy as if you’re building a “tabernacle” of your bodies.

May we glorify God in the use of our bodies and our God-given ability to love.

