My Favorite Plate

“Then the LORD said, ‘You had compassion on the plant for which you did not work and which you did not cause to grow, which came up overnight and perished overnight. Should I not have compassion on Nineveh, the great city in which there are more than 120,000 persons who do not know the difference between their right and left hand, as well as many animals?'” (Jonah 4:10-11)

Below is the picture my most favorite plate. I use it every morning for breakfast and sometimes for snacks. It’s one ugly looking plate. It’s round and light brownish with lots of scratches on it. It’s been used by me for the last 13 years at least once a week but often once a day or more. It’s even got a small burn mark on one side. But 13 years ago, I picked this odd-looking plate out of a garage sale and bought it for a measly 25 cents, yet it has amazingly served me for that long. It’s reliable and true. I love it.


In the mirror is the picture of my body. It’s one weary and tired and weird-looking body. It’s out-of-shape, broken inside and outside, with lots of physical and emotional scars on it. It’s been used by me for the last thirty-some years every second of my life. But 19 years ago my God saw a body not worthy of redemption, full of deceit and conceit, and yet He picked this body up and bought me for a huge price, and He has been the one who made me into who I am today. He loves me enough to do this.

I love my plate, but I didn’t create the plate. How much more does God love me who not only created me but redeemed and continues to guide me…

One thought on “My Favorite Plate

  1. It is so true Tim that it is when we see how ugly and depraved and undeserving we are that we see how magnificent our God is and how deep and great His love has for us. Who is like Him?!

Comments are closed.