Crown Him With Many Crowns

Yesterday I led the hymn “Crown Him With Many Crowns” during Sunday worship. During the past week, I asked God to give me a fresh perspective about that hymn. I wondered: what exactly are the “crowns” that we are to crown the Lord with?

The answer came to me from God’s word as I was studying my class material about “royal” priesthood. Isaiah 62:3 says:

“You will also be a crown of beauty in the hand of the Lord,
and a royal diadem in the hand of your God.”

In other words, we are the crowns! Are we living lives worthy to be displayed for the glory and beauty of the Lord?

Curiously, the Bible talks more about us receiving crowns than God receiving crowns. We’re crowned with wisdom (Proverbs 4:9), knowledge (Proverbs 14:18), riches (Proverbs 14:24), spiritual blessings (Ephesians 1:3), our brothers and sisters in Christ (Philippians 4:1), righteousness (2 Timothy 4:8), and life (James 1:12). So in the end days, we definitely should cast all of our crowns at Jesus’ feet and give Him all the glory and honor He deserves (Revelation 4:9-11)!

Work hard to gain your crowns so you can cast many many crowns before the Lord!

