Addictions

“You’re addicted to thrills? What an empty life! The pursuit of pleasure is never satisfied.” (Proverbs 21:17, The Message)

I’m beginning to realize that a lot of the things I often do are because of addictions. Addictions is different from habits — as opposed to be habits, if you fulfill your addiction, you feel very comfortable and relieved, and if you fight your addiction, you feel like something is missing in your life.

For example, I’m definitely addicted to sound. I always have to have some music going on, or maybe I’ll turn on the TV without watching it. When I come home from work, I automatically reach for the remote and turn the TV on.

I’m also addicted to the internet. I look over my email every hour to see if the Inbox has grown, and I always try to keep the number of unread messages to zero. Once in a while I read online movie reviews, online sports news, and of course online blogs.

Some of you may be addicted to world cup soccer, but I’m addicted to SF Giants baseball. I feel good the day I get to catch just a bit of the radio or TV broadcast, and even better if I can see or hear the whole game. I feel like something’s missing if I don’t at least hear someone score during a live game.

I’m also a little bit addicted to unhealthy food. Since working at my new job, my boss got my taste buds turned on to Starbucks because he buys me a free drink every week, so I kind of crave that sometimes. Also, Wendy and Chase and I go eat at Cousin Cafe about once or twice every week.

But I think I’m addicted to more basic things. I’m addicted to being restless, addicted to getting attention, addicted to being affirmed, addicted to letting other people know when I’ve accomplished something, etc. When it comes down to it, about 90% of what I do every day seems to be out of addiction.

I guess in our sinful human nature, my addictions remind me how empty my life really is. Why am I not addicted to doing good? Why am I not addicted to helping people without expecting something in return? Why am I not addicted to pleasing God wholeheartedly?

Lord, help me to be truly addicted to You, that I will not feel comfortable except to spend quality and quantity time in Your presence and to bring glory to You.

3 thoughts on “Addictions

  1. yes…… i’m addicited to many stuffs that are quite useless in His kingdom as well…=(
    Lord, please continue to renew my life…

  2. I always had a craving for Snapple, but I’ve been drinking bottled water only since my arrival in the Philippines. Amazingly, my craving for Snapple is gone and I’ve been feeling energetic without any caffeine.

Comments are closed.