Forgotten Hunger

“O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; my soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” (Psalm 63:1)

Last Friday, Wendy and Chase and I went to a talk by Dr. Philemon Choi at Silicon Valley Alliance Church. We were in a hurry to get there, so we just had a very small and quick dinner. The talk was great, but Wendy felt hungry during the talk and wanted to eat something. Dr. Choi ran over the scheduled time, so by the time we got home, it was about 11pm, and Chase was past his bed time and it took us some effort to get him to go to sleep. After all the hurrying and all the comotion, we finally settled down, so I asked Wendy, “What snack would you like me to make you?” Wendy replied, “What?” I said, “You said you were hungry.” She said, “Oh, I’ve forgotten it already!”

Even though Wendy’s hunger was physical hunger, somehow the phrase “forgotten spiritual hunger” lingered in my mind. We are living in this world where wrong seems right, where personal liberty is celebrated over righteousness and holiness. We really should be very hungry for God and for His kingdom. But many times the hussle and bussle of life drowned out that spiritual hunger. We’ve forgotten that we should be hungry. This is also why when I went to third world countries for mission trips, I saw all the people hungry for God; but here, it’s hard even to ask people to clap along on Sunday morning during worship. We stuff ourselves with busy-ness and activities and media until we cannot have room for what matters.

An Arabis proverb says “Sunshine without rain is the recipe for a desert.” Lord, remind me daily that we are living in a desert, in a dry and weary land. Let us thirst for Your presence raining down.

