All Musicians Need Mentors

“You don’t want to end your life full of regrets, nothing but sin and bones, saying, “Oh, why didn’t I do what they told me? Why did I reject a disciplined life? Why didn’t I listen to my mentors, or take my teachers seriously?”” (Proverbs 5:11-13, The Message)

Yesterday we heard a sad news about a talented musician that is relatively well-known among Bay Area Chinese Churches who committed suicide. It’s a sad news that has gripped and grieved a few of my friends.

Just a day before I heard the news, I was remarking to someone that I felt that the musicians that I know personally who have had success are all ones who have sought help from advisors/mentors. And when some of their mentors moved away due to various reasons, their music ministry started to fall away as well.

Musicians usually have an artist’s personality that make them more egoistic, reclusive, and esoteric. I encourage all musicians to seek out mentors who can be a positive influence in their lives, to encourage and remind them and keep them on the right track.

One thought on “All Musicians Need Mentors

  1. whoa… i didn’t know about the sad news… can you tell me who that is?

    most musicians are tend to be more emotional as well… but good thing for Christian musicians is that, with God’s help, we can channel this emotion into something positive for His purpose… (obviously I’m not there yet, but trying)

Comments are closed.