Hope For Kenya

“I will seek the lost, bring back the scattered, bind up the broken and strengthen the sick; but the fat and the strong I will destroy…”  (Ezekiel 34:16)

I’ve been sponsoring children with Compassion International since almost 20 years ago. This week I received a letter from the child I sponsor in Kenya, and it really puts things in perspective for me.

As you know, for the last few weeks, here in United States we often hear about food containing E. Coli, like spinach, and now maybe lettuce, and then we hear carrot juice might be tainted with some disease. People were all making a big deal out of it.

Now, read this letter from this kid in Kenya, and see if it puts things in perspective for you. He wrote:

“…Thank you for your goodness. Recently I was supplied with many things including a net which prevents me from being attacked by malaria…”

Kids here in USA would usually thank people for giving them toys or games. But this Kenyan kid thanked me for the supplies to protect him from malaria. Read on:

“…People in my country have been attacked with malaria because of mosquitoes… my church members are praying daily for people in the country because they are dying of AIDS. Children are left helpless and without support. Many people are being buried like maize. So pray for us because it is like maize. So pray for us. It is like the world is coming to an end…”

I was so touched when I read this and it grips my mind and my heart to hear a kid say that “the world is coming to an end.” None of us can live in this abundant Western society and see people being “buried like maize” every day.

At the end of the letter, he asked me what my favorite food is. I was ashamed to realize that my favorite food is sushi, a super-super-luxurious food compared to what this kid in Kenya must be going through. It really puts things in perspective for me, once again, about what our priorities in life should be.


One thought on “Hope For Kenya

  1. Hello Tim! This is Warren on our Japan Missions team blog… check it out when you have time. We’ll be updating daily (hopefully) with prayer requests and pictures and reflections and such… See you soon!

Comments are closed.