We Voted

“I, Paul, and my companions in faith here, send greetings to the Galatian churches. My authority for writing to you does not come from any popular vote of the people, nor does it come through the appointment of some human higher-up. It comes directly from Jesus the Messiah and God the Father, who raised him from the dead. I’m God-commissioned.” (Galatians 1:1-2, The Message)


We voted in the mid-term election yesterday. It’s the second time I voted since I became a US citizen. I really spent a lot of time researching whether to vote for each candidate and each issue. I found that it’s especially important to be able to vote No against those ultra-liberal judicial court candidates, but most people don’t put any time doing that research. Although most of the results did not turn out to be what I wanted, I was happy to have fulfilled my duty as a citizen.

It also reminds me once again that living as a Christian in California is not easy. But please don’t call me a part of “religious right.” Neither do I vote straight Republican – my ballot is very balanced across Republicans vs. Democrats. Neither do I vote Asian/Chinese automatically – I really do examine their platforms closely and don’t just put a line next to every Asian-looking name. It’s more important that the candidate represents a person with integrity privately and publicly and helps the society move forward while being responsible morally.

My biggest disappointment is that Tom McClintock didn’t get elected. While Republicans and Democrats alike use dirty tactics against their opponents, Tom McClintock keeps his integrity at all times. He keeps his political spending within limits, does not ever do mud-slinging, and I heard that he has exemplary character. It’s a shame he didn’t get elected as Lt. Governor. We need more candidates like him.

