16-Year-Old Keisha Castle-Hughes Is Pregnant, For Real

“Mary said to the angel, ‘How can this be, since I am a virgin?'” (Luke 1:34)

Keisha Castle-Hughes, the 16-year-old actress who gave an amazing and touching performance in her Oscar-nominated role in “Whale Rider”, plays the pregnant Mary, the mother of Jesus, in the upcoming movie “The Nativity Story”. Unfortunately, she’s not just acting as pregnant in the movie, but also pregnant in real life, a soon-to-be teenage mom. The father-to-be is her 19-year-old boyfriend whom she dated for 3 years. Yes, she started dating seriously when she was 13.

I had been anticipating the movie “The Nativity Story” and waiting to watch Keisha in her new role. But after learning of this news, I think I’d rather watch “Whale Rider” a few more times and forget about this and hoping to remember her as that sweet innocent girl in “Whale Rider”.

What do you think?

6 thoughts on “16-Year-Old Keisha Castle-Hughes Is Pregnant, For Real

  1. The “sweet innnocent girl” was never innocent nor sweet in the first place, just like the rest of us. Movie versus reality. The Nativity Story is a movie, and she will be again an actress. In reality, I am not disappointed, but only sorry that she has be a mom at such a young age. I pray God will pour His grace on her and her soon to be born child. As for Mary, though she was the mother of Jesus, she was as much a sinner as Keisha, and was in need of God’s grace as much as Keisha is. For me, the fact that Keisha is really pregnant at 16 incidentally makes the story even more powerful in contrasting God’s humbling grace in bring his own son into the world through such a sinner and the utter depth of human fallenness.

  2. Nina: I think New Line Cinema is trying not to publicize the fact that Keisha is pregnant.

    Grace: actually I try to stay away from Christian-penned movie reviews. I’m more interested in how non-Christians view movies like Passion Of The Christ and The Nativity Story. In the former case, many non-Christian movie reviewers feel the power of the movie. In the latter case, many non-Christians feel unmoved.

    Andy: when I wrote this blog entry, I was not thinking theology, but from my feelings. Your comment made me put my thinking cap back on. If I think about this, I don’t see this Keisha pregnancy incident telling me the “utter depth of human fallenness.” Perhaps 9/11 will bring that to mind, but not Keisha. Instead, I see how today’s teenagers see sex as so casual. And how scared I might feel if I have a teenage daughter trying to help her navigate through confused teachings of sex in this world. Then again, it brings me back to a feeling mode. This is because I’m passionate about teenage ministry and just hearing stuff about teenagers brings me all kinds of feelings.

  3. Hey Tim, in regard to your response to me, wouldn’t you think there’s value in reading reviews from both camps?  Just wondering if you could flesh it out a bit in why you try to stay away from Christian-penned movie reviews?

    As for Andy’s comments, as a person who knows him best, I trust “theology” and “feelings” are definitely not mutually exclusive in his heart and mind.  Those are his feelings driven by his understanding of God, which is what theology should be, though a term often misused and misunderstood in today’s modern evangelical churches.

    I completely understand your feelings as well in regard to today’s teenage world.  Yes, it tells me all the more our need for God’s mercy and salvation!

    I’d naturally tend to see 9/11 seems more “evil” than a 16-year-old sleeping with her boyfriend.  But by God’s grace and His mercy, He’s convicted me that I’m no less a sinner than Keisha, and her than the killers on the flights, lest I make light, in my attitude, any offense against my God.  This I remind myself as I set an example for Caleb and in the world around me.

    Thanks for the dialog!

  4. You’re right. I should acknowledge Andy’s feelings that whenever he hears this kind of news, his first thought is the total depravity of all mankind.

    For me, though, although the total depravity is a correct doctrine, it’s not something that would spring to mind for me in situations like this. I guess when I think of Keisha in Whale Rider, I think of “sweet and innocent,” not “equally fallen.” It’s another perspective, but one that doesn’t concern me as much.

    What concerns me is to have a fresh eye when looking at things in this world. The problem I have with “most” Christian-penned movie reviews are they confine their sights to the Christian subculture. I’m tired of reading such reviews that, for example, count the number of F-words in the movie to judge what rating they would give the movie, or even how “biblically correct” a movie seems. But many Christian movie review lack an understanding of human emotions and anthropological relations. The only Christian movie reviews I read are from Christianity Today, and I’ve pretty much been disappointed by the rest.

    Being a movie buff, of course I’ll definitely watch “The Nativity Story,” but my emotions at this moment tell me that I want to watch “Whale Rider” a lot more.

Comments are closed.