“Be Born In Us Today”

“And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.” (John 1:14)

I figure I’d better write my Christmas blog entry a little bit early since many people are taking a break and won’t be reading this before Christmas if I write this too late… anyway, a short entry today…

“O Little Town Of Bethlehem” used to be my most favorite Christmas carol. One of my favorite lines in the carol goes:

O holy Child of Bethlehem!
Descend to us we pray
Cast out our sin and enter in
Be born in us today

I used to sing this song and think of Bethlehem as a peaceful city. But today, Bethlehem is a bedlam of terrorist activity. I now know that peace is not found in any place, but in reconciliation with God. Christmas is not about experiencing bright lights or gifts or a nicely decorated nativity scene. Christmas is experiencing how Christ is born anew in our hearts and allowing Him to enter in and change us.

Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on ““Be Born In Us Today”

  1. I watched a small segment of Dobson’s lecture on “Bringing up Boys”. I don’t remember much about the lecture, except that Dobson was advising that boys who are not ready for kindergarten should repeat pre-school. ( i think it really depends on the situation, but right now i have a boy who is repeating pre-school and he’s doing great)

    if you have time pls make a short summary of your reading, ha ha, so i don’t have to read the book.

Comments are closed.