I’m Out of “Ctrl”

“Slaves, be obedient to those who are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in the sincerity of your heart, as to Christ; not by way of eyeservice, as men-pleasers, but as slaves of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart.” (Ephesians 6:5-6)

I feel fortunate that I love my job. It’s not an easy job, but it’s a very challenging job, and also my company is so close to home that I can have lunch at home with Wendy and Chase every day.

Recently, while i was typing at my company laptop’s keyboard, the “Ctrl” key went in and got stuck and didn’t want to come back out. It made me realize I’ve done as much typing and programming on this laptop in the last year and a half that I’ve worn out a laptop. Actually, the “Ctrl” key was already worn out – the “rl” part has already disappeared and only the “C” and half of the “t” remain printed. Now that the left-hand-side “Ctrl” key is stuck, I’m retraining myself to use the “Ctrl” key on the right hand side of the keyboard. The “Shift” key is feeling sticky so I think it’s about to get the same fate as the “Ctrl” key.

Sometimes, you feel like asking yourself, is everything that I’ve done and spent some much effort and sweat and tears on worth something eternal? Actually, I’m starting to understand that, yes, they’re worth something. I’m proud that my keyboard shows signs that I really work hard at my job because I really want to contribute my God-given gifts wholeheartedly so that my Father is pleased. I don’t feel any earthly rewards, but I know shouldn’t care about that, because I’m out of “Ctrl”, and when I meet God that I’ll finally understand what all I did was all about.

