1 Week = 168 Hours (updated)

“The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22-23)

These two weeks I’ve been working like crazy at work, programming Java 10 hours a day and 7 days a week, so I haven’t had time to write anything substantial.

But today I had a crazy random thought. Let’s see what you think?

Would you rather have:

a) 24 hours per day, 8 hours of sleep per day, 7 days per week?
– or –
b) 12 hours per day, 4 hours of sleep per day, 14 days per week?
– or –
c) 42 hours per day, 14 hours of sleep per day, 4 days per week?

My answer is (b), and here are my reasons:

  1. I think it is true that I experience God’s “new mercies” more in the morning as I feel every morning to be a fresh start. Having more days, therefore more mornings, would be great.
  2. I am a morning person so I love mornings. Sometimes I sleep so little because I can’t wait to get up in the early early morning.
  3. Sometimes I have bad days that I feel I’ve wasted the whole day. If days are shorter, I might not feel like I’ve wasted a long day.
  4. As a corollary, the short days would help me feel a sense of urgency to spend my time wisely.
  5. Short days could also help us focus our days better. For example, on Sundays we go to the church in the morning and perhaps have lunch together, but we waste so much time in the afternoon. If there’s only 8 waking hours a day, we can spend the whole day at church with brothers and sisters. It would be so nice.
  6. In my typical 24-hour day, I actually sleep only 6-7 hours at night. I wake up and take care of Chase for 2-3 hours, and then go to work, have lunch, ad go back. During the early afternoon hours I would have a struggle of mental focus. I might go and surf some websites and stuff. That’s a form of rest for me. Practically, I was living 2 days in 1 day. So anyway my typical day is already very similar to my (b) option anyway.

What’s your preferred answer, and why?

2 thoughts on “1 Week = 168 Hours (updated)

  1. hmm… I personally like A)…
    well.. B) to me would be too many changes… just when i get to settle down on one thing, i need to sleep again… =) C) would bore me to death if that means working 20 hours per day… :-) and I can’t sleep that long haha

  2. Interesting, so do we still have one Sunday in the 14-day week?

    I think I’d still go with the 7-day week because it reminds me of how God had created the world in 6 days and rested on the 7th. Besides, I definitely need my 6-8hrs of sleep each day to function. :-)

Comments are closed.