My Wounds, His Wounds

“…and He Himself bore our sins in His body on the cross, so that we might die to sin and live to righteousness; for by His wounds you were healed.” (1 Peter 2:24)

Last Sunday afternoon, Chase was just waking from his sleep, and I was carrying him a little carelessly. As I was turning my body, I didn’t realize his sleepy head couldn’t hold up and his left cheek fell hard and fast on the edge of my laptop, causing a nasty looking wound. I felt bad about Chase getting that wound. The picture doesn’t show this very well because the wound is a little worse then it looks here (the tear drop is for added sympathy ):

 

Of course this weekend at church, many people asked about Chase’s wound. Last Wendy told me that when a sister asked her about Chase’s wound, she said explained that, “Yeah Tim felt bad about Chase getting the wound in the face. in a way, it’s Tim’s wound also.” What Wendy said was true because I would gladly bear that wound for Chase so he didn’t have to have that wound.

At that moment a light bulb came on in my head. That’s how God feels about our wounds. When we sin, when we do things that hurt God and hurt ourselves, our compassionate God really wants to bear that wound for us. In fact, He did that on the cross. As a father I’m willing to bear the wound for Chase, so our Father bears our sins and hurts for us. When we hurt, He’s sympathetic to our hurts as well. My wounds are His wounds.

