Motivation

What’s your motivation?

 vs. 
 vs. 
6 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. The scare tactics alone might work initially on some people but its effect may not last if the person’s heart is never “won over”. The best tactic might be a mixture of both positive and negative reimforcements.    

  2. Good post. Its interesting to see the different types of encouragement people use. Personally, I think the most effective way is intrinsic rather than extrinsic. So instead of reading signs (whether nice or SCARY), it would take an introspection on my part- evaluating reasons to buckle up or examining a potential for faith- to make it stick. You have to decide things for yourself like the commenter above me said- for your heart to be “won over.”

    (( sry to be a nitpicky bitch- the second examples aren’t “negative reinforcement.” Negative reinforcement is when you take away something bad to elicit good behavior. Ex: when your car makes those annoying beeping sounds if you don’t buckle up. Or if believing in God helped ease bad feelings, doubts, etc. I think this is actually the most efficient way because people would rather take away bad feelings than go out of their way for good ones. We’re lazy. ))

  3. Thanks for your comment!

    I think I’m less interested in what is the “effective” motivation so much as what are the correct motivations. You can make up positive reinforcements like “trusting Jesus will make everything go smooth in your life,” but that won’t be a truthful reinforcement even though it may be effective.

    In the examples I give, the interesting thing is none of the examples I give are 100% truthful. I will follow this up with a follow up post tomorrow to explain this.

  4. I personally like the positive, but I believe different people require different kind of motivations in order to “click”. And yes I do agree neither gives a “complete” picture, especially in the Jesus example. They can serve as a starting point for a non-believer to begin believing, but after that a lot of follow-up would be needed

Comments are closed.