Aging Beautifully

“Let no man deceive himself. If any man among you thinks that he is wise in this age, he must become foolish, so that he may become wise.” (1 Corinthians 3:18)

I find that the older we get, the more communication problems we have with people, the more enemies we make.

The years of experience we gather over the years should make us wise. Instead, we get locked into strict ways of thinking. We see something happen, and we assume what would happen next. We hear someone say something, and we assume his/her intention behind the words. We see a certain problem happening, and we automatically assume a certain solution would work.

Experience is good, but experience can also lie. We got bit by a hound and we’re afraid to go near it, even declaring all dogs to be evil. We got hurt by a relationship and grew wary of future relationships that showed signs of that past relationship. We’ve amassed more fears, more worries, more stubbornness. The rigid old man is less of an exception and more of the rule.

When we were young, we learn the ways of others around us. Now that we are older, we foolishly expect other people to have to follow our ways. So we feel isolated by other people, but we actually isolated ourselves.

As I get older, I want to keep an open and a flexible mind. I want to keep being adventurous. I want to be not just a good listener, but a great listener. I don’t want to live in the past but I want to let the lessons of the past help me and not hinder nor restrict me. I want to age beautifully and wisely.

One thought on “Aging Beautifully

Comments are closed.