The Sanctification Of The Secular: Part 2

“I know and am convinced in the Lord Jesus that nothing is unclean in itself; but to him who thinks anything to be unclean, to him it is unclean.” (Romans 14:14)

During this week I posted questions and discussions about why there should be no distinction about whether an object is secular or sacred. But what does it all mean for the everyday choices I make as a Christian? My answer: it has everything to do with it. So let me give you a couple of examples.

Churches have often asked: should we concern ourselves with the culture? With politics? With environmental issues? These questions actually have to do with the secular/sacred question. Churches cannot say their only task is evangelism. We are saved to do good works in Christ, and these good works extends to all areas of life that God has placed us in, and we should not distinguish between whether an area of life is secular or sacred. Yes, preach the word, but also care for the hurting, help influence the government, and reduce environmental waste.

Another often asked question is: can we use “secular” marketing methods to promote church growth? Can we borrow “secular” leadership and management principles for church staff and leadership? Sometimes pastors get hung up on this and often claim that we are making compromise with the world by applying “secular” church growth methods. To me, God gave us creativity and intellect to think of ways to expand His kingdom. The most important thing is that we are glorifying God and trusting in Him and not trusting in methods. But as long as we’re not creating a man-centered church and keeping our focus God-centered, I see no problems in learning from how companies do things. For example, in my current job, I learn that the hottest thing in the software industry is “innovation.” Because of this, I also try to be innovative in my thinking in presenting the gospel and in my worship leading. And yes, your everyday job can definitely help you serve God better.

I could go on and on, but I think you get the point. I hope this thinking brings you freedom and an integrated faith.

Related:
O哂咀 (from Alan Yu’s blog)

One thought on “The Sanctification Of The Secular: Part 2

  1. I agree. I think the most important thing is we focus on God no matter what method we use, as long as the “creativity” or secular ways we use don’t end up compromise the written words from the Bible in one way or another. Also one thing to consider is what is the motivation behind us to take secular approrach in any of God’s ministries..? Are our only interest is to further advance His kingdom in ways that He pleases, or is our focus is for us to become more acceptible by the secular world and draw more number of people to our church or join our ministry?

    I’m not going to say using secular approach to for His ministries are wrong because Paul didn’t against it either (Philippians 1:15-18), but I can see why some of the conservative churches are against it when those approaches are causing unneeded dissentions and conflicts over non-essential issues among mostly the spiritually unstable believers who joined only because of our secular approach, and resulting in compromising of His words.

Comments are closed.