How I Got An 80GB iPod For $21.43

I’ve been waiting to write about this, and now the wait is finally over… my new 80GB Video iPod has arrived yesterday… and I got it for just $21.43! How? Through a website called Feed Your Player by Millennium Music which lets you trade in used CDs and DVDs for an iPod. Read on if you’re interested because I can offer some tips to do this right.

Actually I’ve been wanting a second iPod because my first one is used by Chase for background music when he naps and sleeps, and I’d like to bring an iPod to work and to church. Since I no longer listen to physical CDs (just MP3s), I have no need for the 600+ CDs taking up space in my living room. I especially had my eye on the 80GB iPod which can be had for 170 used CDs.

But I was skeptical about whether this CDs for iPod trade is a scam or not. So I took some time and did some research and read some message boards to gather opinions. Interestingly, most people claim that it’s a scam. One guy said he sent in 400+ CDs and he only got full credit for 30 CDs or so. But the more I read, the more I think that people are just not careful about what they send there and how they send there. I decided to try the service out and see if it works, since I have nothing to lose.

The first lesson I learned is you have to do your homework. Feed Your Player allows you to type up the names of the CDs in a spreadsheet and send it to them so they’ll tell you if they want it or not. I spent an hour doing that and sent them the spreadsheet. A day later, they replied with the CDs they wanted me to send. What I found is they have no interest getting popular CDs from me. For example, they don’t want any Amy Grant CDs or Celine Dion CDs. You can imagine that they’re overstocked with those CDs that everybody has. So you can forget about sending the mega-artist CDs to them. On the other hand, the second lesson I learned is that used Contemporary Christian CDs are in demand. Relatively few people trade in used Contemporary Christian CDs, but there’s a lot of demand for them.

So I selected 170-180 CDs from my collection. It’s important to carefully read the quality guidelines of Feed Your Player. In addition, from this experience, I learned that minor scratches on the CDs are okay, but the most important thing is that the jewel cases also should be crack-free and have at most minor scratches in order to earn full credit. Wendy and I packaged up the CDs in a box and put some packing material in it. I then mailed it using USPS Media Mail with delivery confirmation (this is required). It cost just $16.48 for the postage.

A week later they received the CDs and called me and told me that they accept 120 of the CDs for full credit and the rest for half credit. I was given the choice of sending them $44 cash to cover the difference or send in 22 more CDs. Of course I chose the latter. Having learned from the first shipment, I chose 30 CDs and 2 DVDs and shipped them, also using USPS Medial Mail with delivery confirmation, costing $4.95. Another week later, they called me and said that I’ve shipped them enough stuff for the 80GB iPod. Then a week later, which was yesterday, I got this brand new 80GB Video iPod in the mail!

It takes a little bit of planning, some research, and patience. But what a good deal this is! Let me know if any of you also wants to do this and I can advise you a bit more.

Related:
My Music (part 2): Digital Music

2 thoughts on “How I Got An 80GB iPod For $21.43

  1. at least 140+ CDs wor

    To be honest, I own one CD (Jay Chou) jak :-p

    But anyways Tim congrats you can successfully “trade in” a new iPod

Comments are closed.