Relearning Worship

“But an hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth; for such people the Father seeks to be His worshipers.” (John 4:23)

I’m reading Harold Best’s book “Unceasing Worship” and I learned something new about worship.

We’ve been teaching people that worship should be a lifelong 24-hour-a-day thing, not just something that happens on Sunday. But this book went one step further. It says that everyone, believers and nonbelievers, are already worshiping 24 hours a day, it’s just a matter who we’re worshiping. Recognizing that we already worship continuously is so important. Even many times believers can veer into worshiping something that’s not God in our continuous worship. This really gives me a fresh perspective of worship. This kind of thinking brings up many more issues about worship and personal holiness and it really helps me reflect and renew how I worship.

Here’s Jason Upton’s new song “In Your presence”. I hope this is our prayer:

Father I am waiting
I need to hear from You
To know that You’re approving
Of what I say and do

‘Cause nothing really satisfies
Like when You speak my name
So tell me that You’ll never leave
And everything will be okay

In Your presence, all fear is gone
In Your presence
In Your presence is where I belong
In Your presence

Father I’m returning
To things I used to do
‘Cause somewhere on the journey
I think I lost hold of the Truth

In Your presence, all fear is gone
In Your presence
In Your presence is where I belong
In Your presence

Just to know Your presence Father
Just to know Your presence Father
Just to know Your presence Father
Just to know You’re present

3 thoughts on “Relearning Worship

Comments are closed.