What’s “New”

“Sing to the LORD a new song; Sing to the LORD, all the earth.” (Psalm 96:1)

It’s hard to imagine I haven’t written anything too substantial in my blog for almost a month now… but I’m at a time when I can truly say I’m quite busy. We’re just starting a big project at my company that’s consuming a lot of my energy and sometimes extending my work hours (although I usually worked very regular hours before). And I’m having to take up more responsibilities at church. In between these is of course my family life. Seems like life has sucked me up from developing my inner self.

But I’m also enjoying some nice reflection times lately. And lately I’ve been thinking a lot about these verses concerning singing to the Lord a new song. I’m still reading Harold Best’s book “Unceasing Worship,” and he wrote that perhaps “new song” is not just a song you haven’t sung before. We can think of it as “Singing to the Lord a song newly.” That means, when you are learning fresh new ways of expressing your faith, when your deepened understanding of truth has demanded a newer kind of response to God, you could be singing a “new song.” Yes, I need this kind of “new song” in my life.

Lord, I pray for newness in my life. Help me to venture deeper, wider, and newer in knowing you and being more like You.

