Spiritual Maturity

“But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me did not prove vain” (1 Corinthians 15:10a)

We just came back from church retreat. I’m pretty exhausted now, but I gotta share about what I learned.

I remember many years ago when I was in college, I asked one of our college fellowship mentors a question. I asked him, “What does it mean to be mature?” His answer was: “You’re mature when you know how to think about other people’s needs.”

For years, I thought he was right. But I started to understand that, while being able to know what others’ needs are, it’s not necessarily a sign of maturity. I actually know a couple of people who had mental illnesses and depressions, who appear on the outside to care a lot for other people, and they’d do things for other people and buy gifts for others, all because they wanted others to affirm who they are. They never came to terms about their own identity by themselves.

But the people who are truly mature have a greater understanding and acceptance of who they are, their calling and mission in life, and how they relate to God and to others. They’re not afraid to limit themselves and narrow their choices in life, because they are secure about where in God’s plan they fit in.

So this is the biggest lesson I learned. Apostle Paul said, “By the grace of God, I am what I am.” A simple statement, but a phenomenal statement. To be able to see yourself truly for who you are, and seeing yourself through the grace of God. That’s spiritual maturity.

