I Don’t Want A Church


I don’t want a church… where the preaching is so dynamic and so practical that I thought I’d learn everything from the Sunday sermons and I’d never take the time to read God’s Word for myself.

I don’t want a church… where the worship music is so great and so lovely that my focus is on the worship band/choir rather than living my daily life to worship God.

I don’t want a church… where the church building is so grandiose and so beautiful that I forget that the church is actually a local community of believers without any physical boundary, and functioning in the context of the universal Church built up by Christ.

I don’t want a church… where the children ministry is so engaging and so well-executed that I would neglect my parental responsibility to bring my children up in the Lord in my own home.

I don’t want a church… where the ministry programs are so accommodating and so all-encompassing that the church tries to please me as a “church consumer” and not someone who’s willing to pay the price and the effort and the risk to please God with obedience and commitment.

I don’t want a church… who advertises itself as the perfect church, because there’s no such thing.

“To the angel of the church in Ephesus write: …… But I have this against you, that you have left your first love. Therefore remember from where you have fallen, and repent and do the deeds you did at first; or else I am coming to you and will remove your lampstand out of its place–unless you repent.” (Revelation 2:1a,4,5)

Related:
The Consumer Church by Mark Riddle

