Money Or Family

“Instruct those who are rich in this present world not to be conceited or to fix their hope on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly supplies us with all things to enjoy.” (1 Timothy 6:17)

Lately I don’t have too much time to write. I’m working on teaching a sunday school class on worship in June. And some of you know that Wendy is dealing with gestational diabetes during her pregnancy (I may be writing more about this later), and I also have been constantly helping her figure out what foods to eat and also going along with her to doctor visits.

Because of that we started hiring a part-time helper to help cook meals for us. God answered our prayers and sent us a great helper who today started her first day with us. She happens to be a Christian who’s active in visitation ministry, and she’s also had years of experience being a helper in homes. So she’s seen many families and how they function.

Today while chatting with Wendy, she told her a couple of sad stories from families she’s worked with. One family was so wealthy that they hired 5 maids (including her). But she could sense that there was no love in the family, and the children were just waiting for the father to die so they could get the inheritance money. She also worked in another fairly wealthy two-income family, and over the course of a few years, she witnessed the marriage dissolve and end in divorce, with the dad having an affair and taking the son with him, leaving the mom behind with the daughter.

Sometimes these tragic stories about families help me put things in perspective. It reminds me of one of my most favorite quotes from the movie “American Beauty,” when Kevin Spacey’s character said to the wife, “This isn’t life, it’s just stuff. And it’s become more important to you than living.” I hope that the helper’s stories reminds me not to waste my life gaining possessions but to really treasure my loved ones.

One thought on “Money Or Family

Comments are closed.