Nutritional Madness

Last night Wendy and Chase and I were shopping at Target, and I heard a kid in another aisle sporting a bad cough. I only heard the coughing, but because the kid was coughing on and off for at least 3 minutes, I peeked in the other aisle out of curiosity, and I saw something that I can only describe as “madness.” The mom was pushing this stroller with this kid, probably a little under 2 years old, drinking from a Starbucks cup and coughing after every sip from the straw. I recognize the drink as the Starbucks Strawberries & Crème Frappacino, a high sugar drink that’s definitely not suitable for a 2-year-old. And on top of that, the kid was obviously coughing from it, and the mom did nothing about it and kept shopping. Madness! So I ran over to tell Wendy what I saw. As soon as I went over there, another mom walked past me while pushing a stroller with her kid, this one probably a 3-year-old, sipping away at another pinkish sugary-looking drink! What’s going with these people?

BTW, with Chase, from when he was a 1-year-old, we deliberately helped him to like the natural sweet taste of fruit. After every meal we will entice him to eat fruit, and to this day he loves eating strawberries, blueberries, watermelon, etc. At the same time, water and milk are the only drinks he knew until 1.5 years old, and even when we give him some juice to try out, it was 1 part juice mixed with about 10 part water, and he has no problem with the diluted juice mixture. Only last week did he actually had ice cream for the first time, but because he never really likes cold food, he is just ok with ice cream. He kept saying, “大個食雪糕” (“I’ll eat ice cream when I grow older”). Chase is underweight for his age by the doctor’s standards. However, the doctor’s standards are skewed by the national average.

What happened next? Well, this morning, as I headed out of the house to go to work, I saw the neighbor’s chubby-looking 7-year-old daughter holding a bag of chips on the sidewalk and chugging chips down in a brisk pace. I got as fast as I could into my car and drove away. I couldn’t take it anymore.

2 thoughts on “Nutritional Madness

Comments are closed.