Blessings Of Children (4): What’s The Message?

Raising children is often a waste of time and money.

Of course it is. And I don’t mean it in a negative way. In the process of raising children, there’s a lot of wasted money and time. And food. And sweat. And blood. And tears. Raising children is an inefficient process.

But this can only be viewed negatively if you value those other things too highly. In fact, I do sometimes wrongly convey that message in my speech in front of my children. When my son tampers with my prized collection of books, or messes up what I’m doing on the computer, I seem to raise my voice a bit more than usual. Ever heard yourself saying to your children, “Hurry up! You’re wasting my time”? Or “I paid so much money for you to have this toy and you broke it”?

If we truly believe our children are a blessing, make sure to let them know it without leaving any doubt. Please note that I’m not talking about any self-esteem psychobabble stuff. All I’m suggesting is to ask yourself: do your children perceive that you’re treating them as a blessing or a burden? What’s the message being conveyed day-to-day?

I hope this has been a good discussion for you as it was for me!

Blessings Of Children (1): Blessings, Not Burdens
Blessings Of Children (2): Saint-makers
Blessings Of Children (3): Intrinsically Valuable
Blessings Of Children (4): What’s The Message?

Further Readings:
Musings of the Dings: The Blessing of Children
En Gedi: Are Children a Burden or Blessing?

