Natural Cold Remedies (1): Sleep & Hydration

The Chan family had largely enjoyed a healthy 2008… until December 2008. Since the start of Dec 2008, Chase and I have gotten sick 2 to 3 times, and Wendy got sick twice also. As of this writing, Wendy is on her way back to health, and hopefully we’ll be free of this cold/flu bug that bothered us for many weeks.

Because Wendy is a breastfeeding mother, unfortunately she cannot take most over-the-counter cold medicine. We had to rely on natural cold remedies.

I’m still learning more about natural cold remedies, but I want to share some of the ones I know. If you know any good natural cold remedies, feel free to let us know!

The first one is obvious: Sleep! Yes, it’s obvious, but people usually don’t sleep enough. With a young baby in the house, we don’t have a choice. Even without a baby, staying up late is just a bad habit for me and for many people. Just recently a study says that people who sleep fewer than 7 hours are 3 times more likely to have a cold. I guess it’s obvious, but we sometimes need studies like that to more firmly remind us the need to sleep.

And of course the second is also obvious: Drink more water! Actually if you mix some salt to the water it could be a simple natural cold remedy, probably for mild colds. Another study says that using seawater as a nasal wash is more effective than cold medicine, although, one would ask: where can I find seawater?

I’ll report on more natural cold remedies tomorrow!

