Media Monday: “Here I Am” by “downhere”

This is one of my recent favorite songs: “Here I Am” by “downhere”. Usually a song that contains “Here I am, Lord send me” is about someone standing out wanting to be called by God to boldly go out to serve Him. But there’s always a hidden sense of pride when you say those words like that. Rather, this song emphasizes our brokenness and how God redeems us by making our story a part of His plan. The lyrics are simple but very meaningful.

Unfortunately, one cannot find a good version of this song on YouTube. Word Music has removed any video from YouTube that contains the song in its recorded form. The best I could find is this one (but missing a few lines from the start of the song):


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlNNYxSNhUA

Lyrics:

Here I Am
by Jason Germain & Marc Martel

(Verse 1)
Sometimes Your calling comes in dream
Sometimes it comes in the Spirit’s breeze
You reach for the deepest hope in me
And call out for the things of eternity
But I’m a man of dust and stains
You move in me so I can say…

(Chorus)
Here I am, Lord send me
All of my life I make an offering
Here I am, Lord send me
Somehow my story is a part of Your plan
Here I am

(Verse 2)
When setbacks and failures and upset plans
Test my faith and leave me with empty hands
Are You not the closest when it’s hardest to stand?
I know that You will finish what You began
And these broken parts You redeem
Become the song that I can sing…

(Chorus)
Here I am, Lord, send me
All of my life, I make an offering
Here I am, Lord, send me
Somehow my story is part of Your plan
Here I am

(Bridge)
Overwhelmed by the thought of my weakness
And the fear that I’ll fail You in the end
In this mess, I’m just one of the pieces
I can’t put this together but You can

Here’s Jason Germain talking about the story behind the song “Here I Am”:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjfoNH2HfCQ
I really encourage you to purchase their whole album “Ending Is Beginning” (and I did!). There are many many good songs on it including “How Many Kings,” another excellent song.

Tim’s thought on the song “Here I Am”: “Yes, my life makes sense to God even if it doesn’t makes sense to me.”

<< Previous “Media Monday” Next “Media Monday” >>

One thought on “Media Monday: “Here I Am” by “downhere”

Comments are closed.