Studying vs Participating

“O taste and see that the LORD is good; How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!” (Psalm 34:8)

I can’t believed I haven’t blogged in 3+ weeks. A lot has happened during that time. We had a mini-vacation. I’ve been super-busy at work. And we’ve been helping with a friend who went through a life-or-death experience, another friend with a relational issue. I had been wanting to write about a lot of different things, but I’ve decided to write lighter pieces at least for the next few weeks.

One of the places we went to during our vacation was San Diego Sea World. There were a lot of tourists. Just lining up to get the tickets into the park took 45 minutes. And then there were long lines to get into every exhibit and into every show. I remarked to Wendy that it seems the older I get, the more I complain about the wait times, and the more I remember about the impatient waiting after the vacation. But when I was younger, I hardly had much memory about waiting for rides — all I remembered was how fun the parks and the rides and the shows were.

At the end of the day, we were standing in front of the ride known as “Journey To Atlantis”. It’s basically a watery roller coaster ride featuring a steep plunge that would soak you wet all over. as we watched, we were amused at how everyone who were taking that steep plunge were screaming in fear at the top of their lungs and getting all wet when they got down. Unfortunately I usually get very sick when I go on roller coaster rides, so I couldn’t participate but just to watch how fun it must be. Then I noticed there was a huge line of people waiting to take the plunge. Suddenly a thought came to me — even though everyone had ample time to study how the Atlantis ride worked, exactly how the plunge worked, how it made those people scared, how exciting it might be for those people, etc., it’s not the same as actually getting on the ride and experiencing it for yourself.

We may be able to study all we can about God, know all we can about what a great faith is, but until you take the plunge and have an intimate encounter with God, it still amounts to nothing.

