I Will Not Drink From The Toilet Bowl

Dog Drinking Toilet!photo (c) 2008 Bogart Handsome Devil | more info (via: Wylio)

She did it again today. Not once, not twice, but at least three times.

For some reason, once in a while, my dog Choco would sneak into the bathroom and climb up to the edge of the toilet bowl and drink the toilet water. Lately, since we’re potty training our 2-year-old, Choco even started drinking from the baby potty.

I caught Choco doing it again this morning. I said in frustration, “Choco!!! I put clean, filtered water in your bowl in the kitchen already!!! Why do you have to drink from the toilet bowl, again?”

But it struck me that God might be saying the same thing to us sinners.

What is “sin”? Greg Gilbert (in “What Is The Gospel?“) wrote: “Literally, the word means “missing the mark,” but the biblical meaning of sin is much deeper. It’s not as if Adam and Eve were trying very hard to keep God’s command and just missed the bull’s-eye by a few degrees. No, the fact is that they were shooting in the opposite direction!”

But my dog Choco actually showed me another perspective on sin. Even though I provided a way for her to fulfill her thirst with pristine water, she did not want it. Instead, she wanted to fulfill her thirst in her own way, going for her own filthy water. In the same vein, even though we could draw from the riches of God’s grace, even though we could go to Him for whatever issues we face, many times we choose to satisfy our needs in our own way, going for lesser solutions.

Every time we sin, we are choosing to drink from the toilet bowl instead of drinking from God’s wellspring of blessing.

So, say it after me: “I will not drink from the yucky toilet bowl! I will not drink from the yucky toilet bowl!”

“Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”” (John 4:13-14)

